Snackalackin’

First up in my little holiday and travel series comes snacks. You know that feeling, we all have it, when you’re on a long journey whether it’s the train, plane or car and you’re seriously bored. All you can think about is what to eat next, you need something to satisfy that nagging in the back of your mind. Sweet, salty, or a bit of both.  The need grows stronger the less you try to think about it until you have to give in and find something QUICK, however the next services are miles away or the only option you have is beige food. EW

I like to believe that snacks are my thing. No matter how long or short my journey out is, I will never be caught without something in my bag to nibble on. People always laugh at the amount of food I bring with me to places, but when lunch is still 2 hours away, I’ll just sit over here nibbling away, then you’ll be laughing. 

There’s always so many different opinions on snacking, what some people think are right and others think are wrong. That snacking between meals is bad for you, or that you should eat 4, 5 or even 6 small meals a day. You see, I like to believe that you do what feels right for your body, what makes you feel full of beans and ready to take on the big bad world, not lie on the sofa afterwards in need of a sleep. Personally I can’t handle eating three large meals a day, my blood sugar levels drop in between and I turn into the hulk, I’m not kidding. Also I love a good snack, maybe more than my actual meals. At the moment I have been trying to put a little bit of weight on to get back some shape to my body and try to build some actual muscles (no more 10 year old boy chic for me), so it’s been three meals a day and three snacks. Eating every 3-4 hours is what I like to do, but be intuitive. 

Think of whole foods when it comes to your snacks, nothing processed. It’s best if it doesn’t even have an ingredients list, but if it does make sure it only contains things that you recognise to be as food. No chemicals here please.

At snack times I try to follow the principle of always eating some form of protein, especially if pairing it with something sweeter. That way you have energy in a steady stream and no spiked blood sugar levels leaving you needing more only an hour or so later. 

Here are some ideas for ya:

  • Banana coins with peanut butter, cacao nibs and cinnamon
  • Apple slices with nut butter, almond or hazelnut is really good
  • Celery or carrot sticks with nut butter or tahini, add a few raisins for ants on a log styleee
  • Some yogurt with berries (coconut, Greek or goats is lovely, if you eat dairy try to stick to organic and full fat)
  • Chunks of cucumber with hummus, sprinkle on some paprika for a punch
  • Chunks of cheese with crackers or some cruditΓ©s, also with apple slices 
  • A handful of nuts and seeds with some fruit or veggies
  • 1/2 an avocado with lemon salt and chilli, I like to eat this with crackers, a small piece of toast or with some seeds
  • Medjool dates stuffed with nut butter, sprinkle of cinnamon, a lil bit of pink salt. Do it with tahini, DARE YA!
  • Homemade muesli bars or energy balls (keep on reading for the recipe kids)
  • Some chia pudding, go crazy with the toppings, nut butter, fruit, sprinkley things from your cupboard
  • Maybe some banana bread toasted with butter or coconut butter or nut butter
  • Leftovers from breakfast lunch or dinner (yes I do like to eat cold curry)
  • Some boiled eggs with spinach or avocado
  • A little smoothie, not just fruit though, try to throw in some veggies and a source of fat and protein

I could go on and on and on….nothing is that special or trying too hard, just things found in the fridge or cupboard that fills the big gap between feastings. You’re probably thinking that I eat a lot of nut butter, well yes you’re right I do, it’s an addiction I probably need help. You only live once though, might as well enjoy the peanut butter whilst you can.

Find a peanut butter with no added extras, i like meridian and it must be crunchy!
Speaking of peanut butter, here’s a recipe that I threw together one day when I really fancied some peanut butter energy balls, with cacao nibs. Not like a cookie at all, but kinda sorta is, I’ll let you be the judge of that one. They’re not too sweet like some of these types of recipes can be, but will give you boundless energy and two will keep you going nicely.

 Peanut butter and cacao nib energy balls

Ingredients

100g oats

75g almonds

75g desiccated coconut

25g hemp seeds

2 heaped tbsp hemp protein powder (or any protein powder that you like)

1 tbsp maca powder (gives a sweet malty flavour and hella energy)

1-2 tsp cinnamon, depending if you like cinnamon as much as me

Pinch of salt

6 big squishy medjool dates (can use normal dates just soak first in boiling water)

3 big tbsp peanut butter, I like crunchy

3 tbsp coconut oil

Big handful cacao nibs

  1. First pulse the almonds in a food processor until broken down into smaller chunks
  2. Add all the other ingredients, except the cacao nibs and blend until the mixture has a sticky consistency and you can form it into a ball. If needed add more coconut oil, peanut butter or a splash of water if it still feels on the dry side.
  3. Add in the cacao nibs and blend until they’re evenly mixed in
  4. Squish into balls, I think I made around 15 smaller ones, but make whatever size you like bigger or smaller until you run out of mixture
  5. I rolled them in some extra cinnamon and maca (think posh truffles), or roll in more cacao nibs, desiccated coconut, goji berries, raw cacao powder or leave them naked and free. Whatever you want to make them pretty
  6. Pop in the freezer for 20 or 30 minutes on a plate or a tray. Now this is where I always go wrong and forget about them until 3 hours later. Then transfer to a Tupperware and keep in the fridge or the freezer. They keep best in the freezer, so take a few out at a time to thaw in the fridge ready for whenever you need a pick me up

Soft and gooey medjool dates are what you need here for that caramelly richness
Two ready to go for some poolside snackin’
If it’s snacks for a plane journey you’re needing you’ll have to stay clear of yogurt and nut butters, but the majority of the others will all travel well, especially energy balls ^^ hint hint. Get yourself loads of Tupperware boxes in different sizes to take things in so nothing gets squished or spills in your bag, then you’re just about set. Let the snacking envy COMMENCE!

Lots of love, sunshine and happy travels

X

Leave a Reply

