Superfood sprinkle (or Unicorn dandruff)

When I first started eating this way, so called ‘superfoods’ kept appearing on all the blogs that I was reading, on my Instagram feed so therefore in my shopping basket. Like most other people I believed all the hype and that these mysterious powders were completely necessary to become a happier and healthier person. Obviously, having never even heard of such things like maca, lucuma and  ashwaghanda until the past couple of years, I felt they were the things missing from my life. 

Now having read a lot more, feeling a little wiser and more ‘in tune’ with my body I now know that’s not the case. They may add some interesting, sometimes questionable flavours but we can obtain all the nutrients we need just by eating foods in their whole forms, things that come from the ground, from trees and plants.

I’ve read a really  interesting post recently by a nutritionist called Laura Thomas about the truths of coconut oil. Along the same sort of lines as the powders, we used to cope just fine without coconut oil before, so why has it suddenly sprung up on all of our kitchen work tops. For some of you reading it, it will be a kick in the gut. Basically the myths have been debunked and SPOILER ALERT, it’s not the wonder product we all thought it was. Obviously it is a hell of a lot better for you than hydrogenated and trans fats, just remember everything in moderation. Don’t be throwing your jars of the stuff out the window, it tastes lovely. You can still roast your veg in it, use it as a moisturiser at night time or as a butter substitute in baking, just don’t go crazy. Have a look at the post here, i recommend a little read.

Back onto the powders, sorry for the detour. Having had a tester of the majority, they do taste rather funky. Some are pretty good, but others I’d prefer not to eat just because of the supposed ‘health benefits’. For example spirulina, seriously does anyone actually like the seaweedy flavour. Maybe in savoury dishes but stay away from my smoothies please. JUST PLAIN WRONG. Also baobab, I don’t want to make my food taste like a Refresher. I’ve read all about it containing more vitamin C than oranges, maybe if your serving size is the mass of a large orange then yes there will be more vitamin C. When comparing the 10g serving size to an orange, guess who comes out top? Of course the orange with three times more vitamin C than baobab. Stop throwing the cash around and get your chops around some old fashioned citrus, much cheaper and tastes miles better. 

I’m not shunning all superfood powders. Açai is pretty fine. Where would we be without the açai bowl, the most popular street food snack in Brazil that’s recently hit our shores and caused a shockwave. Eating ice cream for breakfast (or lunch and dinner if you really must) how can you possibly say no. It is a berry, so promoting low sugar and high in antioxidants, if you do fancy forking out a bit of money açai is a good one to go for.

And then how about our old friend cacao. It may not be proven that it’ll help with cardiovascular health, stick to the dark stuff, and I’m sure like me you’re more than happy to take the risk for the occasional few squares. Or add a spoon into your porridge for a hot chocolatey vibe. If the supposed health benefits aren’t true, you’ll still be given a caffeine boost, and a little pep in your step first thing in the morning is nothing to complain about. 

How about maca, ooh controversial. The marmite of the supplements world. Some love it others hate it. I can take it or leave it to be truly honest, it tastes lovely but it’s not something that I’m frequently reaching for. Apparantly used by the Incas to prepare them for battle, providing a caffeine shot and a boost to your libido, but I’ll leave that for you to find out. I personally don’t feel any benefits from it, apart from the malty flavour it adds. Nice in porridge, but would rather stick to plain old cinnamon. Thanks.

Store it in a jar, jars are just too cute not to

So nowadays I would rather eat whole foods such as fruits, veggies, nuts, seeds and whole grains, rather than all these fancy supplements, which also cost a bomb! If you genuinely like the flavour then of course use them.

Pumpkin seeds, WHOLEfoods that you can grab at your local supermarket

So onto the reason we’re all here, my Superfood Sprinkle. Not full of expensive unpronounceable powders you’d expect to see in a chemistry lab, now we’re talking about things you can find at your local Tesco. Superfoods: real foods that sure are super. Sprinkle it on anything and everything that requires a touch of fancy, my favourite is on breakfast things like porridge, toast, yogurt. Or even nibble on it as a snack.
Sunflower seeds ready for their close up
 

Maybe I’m now contradicting myself, ^^ I just said not full of expensive superfoods, I suppose there may be three. BUT that’s just cos I like them. Bee pollen, cacao nibs and goji berries, it’s up to you whether you choose to use them. Bee pollen, yes is expensive however you don’t use much at once so cost per use isn’t too bad, also it’s so aesthetically pleasing and I’m all about that pretty Instagram #breakfast shot. I CANT RESIST. Goji berries, add a little hint of sweetness without being sugar bombs and then cacao nibs are just the crunchiest munchiest things. So addictive. Add to a trail mix, use as a smoothie topper, mix in with dark chocolate chips into cookies YES PLEASE! They’re pretty versatile, so trust me they won’t be something that you use once and then sits in the cavern that is the back of your cupboard.  I like to buy these sorts of things from Amazon because it’s a lot cheaper than places like Wholefoods, and Holland and Barrett. 

So simple, can be made even quicker in a food processor, but a chopping board, knife, bowl and spoon will do the trick just nicely. It looks super beautiful and will make you feel super beautiful. I thought the bowl looked rather trippy (no it’s not the hemp seeds affecting me) and that’s why I’d like to call this my unicorn dandruff. Appetising I know, but it’s from a unicorn so it’s MAGICAL. 

Pretty trippy stuff

Superfood Sprinkle

I tend to use what’s on the go in my cupboard so feel free to substitute with other nuts and seeds or leave some out to keep the cost down. Think of this recipe as an idea, I won’t judge if you want to chop and change things around, as it will taste scrummy no matter what the outcome.

Ingredients

1/4 cup of each of the following:

  • Hemp seeds
  • Sunflower seeds
  • Pumpkin seeds
  • Sesame seeds
  • Chia seeds
  • Walnuts
  • Goji berries
  • Ground linseeds/flaxseeds
  • Bee pollen 
  • Cacao nibs
  • Desiccated/flaked coconut

Then

  • 2 tbsp açai powder (it makes it a pretty colour)
  • 1tsp cinnamon
  • Good sprinkle pink Himalayan salt

Method

Either:

  • Tip all the ingredients into a food processor and pulse until it’s a texture that you like. Anywhere between dust or gravelly chunks, it’s up to you. 

Or

  • Leave it chunky, mix everything together in a bowl and that’s that. However I prefer it chopped up that way you get a bit of everything in every bite 

Or

  • Chop the pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds, walnuts and goji berries up by hand, then mix with the rest of the ingredients in a large bowl

Then

  • Transfer to a jar and store in a cool dark place, or the fridge if your kitchen is quite warm


Get sprinkling my lovelies, 

Enjoy!

X

Leave a Reply

